Shadowhunters: The Descent Into Netflix Is Easy

Round-up of thoughts on Shadowhunters episode 2! This week was Enjoyable, primarily because we were laughing at the show rather than with it. Apologies to everyone involved. Next week my housemates and I may well be playing with this drinking game (don’t try this at home – unless, of course, you’re old enough!)… Spoilers under the cut.

  • “Mundie”
  • The whole flickering DEMON on the Pandemonium sign is getting old. It’s only ep2. Please find some new storytelling devices, writers
  • I feel like one of the worst things you could do if you know demons are hunting you is to lock yourself into somewhere that isn’t 100% safe and block out one of your most important senses by blaring music through headphones. Just saying.
  • I said it last time, but it bears repeating. EVERYONE IS HOT.
  • Why why why did Clary’s mum and Luke have a conversation of Utmost Importance about her when she could have been awake? That’s just silly
  • Clary runs better in heels than she can walk in them but she still looks like drunk!me walking to the club on a Friday
  • DOT WHY DID YOU WASTE TIME SPEAKING TO A COMATOSE WOMAN INSTEAD OF ESCAPING
  • Not here for like the only black woman in the show being violently attacked/murdered, even if she was a demon
  • Also not here for Simon’s weird ‘no homo’ vibes
  • But Totally Here for Clary/Izzy
  • THE FACE STROKING I MEAN COME ON
  • Also Alec/Jace
  • “You weren’t a stray”
  • But the show seems very straight. They’re going for gold on this whole love (tri)angle thing.
  • Was it just me or was there an exact repetition of the scene in the Institute where Isabelle is like, “50 bucks he won’t approve this mission” etc?
  • Hodge Starkweather? I’m now imagining a combination of Iron Man and the fairy from Sleeping Beauty. But I guess that one’s on Cassandra Clare
  • The creepy sewn-up faces dudes were creepy
  • “Looking better in black than the widows of our enemies” I MEAN JACE REALLY
  • The (dis)continuity of Clary’s forehead cut was So Annoying
  • Whoever decided that Simon should liken Jace to Mick Jagger has obviously never seen Mick Jagger in their lives

I mean, I’m looking forward to next week. I need some laughter in my life.

Leave a Reply

